Major Dhyanchand Awards

Major Dhyanchand Award

Summary of Major Dhyan Chand Sports Awards 2016

On behalf of the organizing committee, I am pleased to share with you about the event that we organized in the honor of Great Shree Dhyan Chand Ji. We organized Sports Awards Ceremony to felicitate Sports Heroes of India at India Islamic Cultural Centre, Lodi Road, New Delhi on September 16th, 2016. The entire sports awards ceremony was dedicated to the Magician of Hockey, Gem of India Major Dhyan Chand (Dadda).
Honorable Sh. Brij Bhushan Saran, Member of Parliament and he is also the President of the Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) spared some of his valuable time to be the chief guest and inaugurated the function. The entire event was covered by the leading newspapers and electronic media. The event has had a galaxy of sports stars like Sh. Ashok Dhyan Chand (Former Captain Indian Hockey Team), Sh. Zafar Iqbal (Former Captain Indian Hockey Team), Padam Bhushan Mahabali Satpal, Dhronacharya Awardee Guru Bhupinder Dhawan and awardees from various sports events. The function was attended by more than 450 spectators from various clusters of the society.
The event had primarily sponsored by Book & Go (Your Trusted Travel Companion), Co-Sponsored by Nutrition for All & Veteran Defence Forces Group. Hospitality Partner was Radisson Blu Hotel Dwarka New Delhi, Health Care Partner were Indian Spinal Injuries, Sports Wear Partner were T10 Sports, Cultural Partner was Russian House Federation Entertainment  Partner were Modern Performing Arts Centre (MPAC).
The motive behind organizing the “Major Dhyan Chand Sports Awards Ceremony” is to motivate the sports persons, who have achieved a milestone in their respective field of sports by their dedication, consistency and untiring effort. The Major Dhyan Chand Sports Awards Committee will be headed by esteemed jury members from different fields such as; Corporate, Media, Sports, Education, Science, and academic communities to bring the transparency in the selection process of awards. The focus of Major Sports Awards Ceremony is to play an active role for social change and participation of youngsters in various sports. The role of sports and its activities can be used in building teamwork, increasing motivation level and will power in the generation to come. The Major Dhyan Chand Sports Awards is not only to facilitate superior athletic skills but also to inculcate quality leadership and academic excellence for those who love to participate in community service.

List of Awardees 2015

Sports Person’s
1. Best player in Boxing :Mc Mary Kom
2. Best player in Cricket : Virat Kohli
3. Best player in Wrestling : Shushil Kumar
4. Best player in Wrestling : Alka Tomar
5. Best player in Body Building
& Weight Lifting : Mukesh Gahlot

Tribute to Former Players
1 Brig. Manchanda (Rtd) : Squash
2 Sh. Harbinder Singh : Hockey

Para Athletes:-
1. Prasanta Karmakar : Swimmer
2. Discus Throw : Amit Saroa

Special Awards:-
1. Best Sports Federation : Hockey India
2. Best School Promoting Sports : Poorna Prajna Public
3. Best NGO Promoting Sport : Physical Education Foundation of India (PEFI)
4. Best Company Promoting Sports : Its Possible Group

List of Awardees 2016

1. Best Player in Cricket (female)        : Harmanpreet Kaur
2. Best Player in Boxing : Jitu Rai
3.Best Player in Para Athlete (swimming) : Sharath Gayakwad
4.Best Player in Body Building :Suhas Khamkar
5.Best Coach (cricket) : Tarak Sinha
6.Best Coach (Body Building) : Bhupinder Dhawan

7.Best Person Promoting
Sports (football) : Virender Rawat

8. Best Person Promoting Sports (Jump Rope) : Sunita Joshi
9.Best School Promoting Sports : Modern School Barakhamba Road, New Delhi.
10.Best NGO Promoting Sports : NAZ Foundation
11.Best Company Promoting Sports : Oil & Natural Gas Corporation Limited (ONGC)
12.Life Time Achievement Award : Dr. Sunita Godara